Bookish Events - Wimpy Edition

Bookish Events – Wimpy Edition

For all you Wimpy Kid fans out there (and I know who you are…even you high school students), Jeff Kinney is coming to the area to promote his latest book. He will be appearing on November 4th, courtesy of Children’s Book Worldin Haverford (my favorite book store). But because they are expecting a lot of Wimpy fans, 1) you must buy a ticket in advance for the event and 2) the event is going to be…

View On WordPress

17 October 2014 ·

Classic New Book Friday - Nobel Prize Edition

Classic New Book Friday – Nobel Prize Edition

So, this book has been in the library since last year, but I never got a chance to talk it up. And then, last Friday, the author became the youngest person to ever receive the Nobel Peace Prize.

malalaSo, the book is I Am Malalaby Malala Yousafzai. She is the young woman who was shot by the Taliban for going to school and for speaking about the importance of education for girls. The book gives an easy…

View On WordPress

17 October 2014 ·

Dedication for The Secret History of Wonder Woman by Jill Lepore

Dedication for The Secret History of Wonder Woman by Jill Lepore

13 October 2014 ·

Loved the tv version, Linda Carter and Lyle Wagner!
I’ve been watching reruns on ME-TV recently and remembering how much I loved it as a kid.
So 70s…I love it!

13 October 2014 ·

First Doctor Who scarf finished. 78 rows left on scarf #2.

First Doctor Who scarf finished. 78 rows left on scarf #2.

13 October 2014 ·

New Book - First Line

"Wonder Woman is the most popular female comic-book superhero of all time."

-The Secret History of Wonder Woman by Jill Lepore

13 October 2014 ·

mollymwetta:

I keep getting inquiries for read-alikes for Ellen Hopkins books. So I made a list, and tried to include a balance of novels in verse and problem/issue novels, new releases, award winners, and easier reads. See the annotated list here. 

I’d also throw some “classics” in here…Make Lemonade and Bronx Masquerade.

mollymwetta:

I keep getting inquiries for read-alikes for Ellen Hopkins books. So I made a list, and tried to include a balance of novels in verse and problem/issue novels, new releases, award winners, and easier reads. See the annotated list here

I’d also throw some “classics” in here…Make Lemonade and Bronx Masquerade.

12 October 2014 ·

yalsa-ttt:

Voting for the 2014 Teens’ Top Ten has officially begun! Have your teens vote for their favorite titles now through Teen Read Week (Oct 18)!
http://www.ala.org/yalsa/reads4teens/

yalsa-ttt:

Voting for the 2014 Teens’ Top Ten has officially begun! Have your teens vote for their favorite titles now through Teen Read Week (Oct 18)!

http://www.ala.org/yalsa/reads4teens/

(via yalsa-ttt)

12 October 2014 ·

"To my family. Obviously."

Dedication for A Tale Dark and Grimm by Adam Gidwitz.

"To my family. Obviously."

Dedication for A Tale Dark and Grimm by Adam Gidwitz.

11 October 2014 ·

Classic Book Friday - Newish Edition

Classic Book Friday – Newish Edition

There are so many new books in the library right now! I want to tell you all about the new books, but don’t want to neglect the old ones. So I’m compromising. Today’s book is an older book that’s new to our library.

grimmA Tale Dark and Grimmis the first book in Adam Gidwitz’s trilogy that features classic fairy tales with a twist. In this one, Hansel and Gretel enter into eight other fairy tales with…

View On WordPress

10 October 2014 ·

About Me

I'm a middle/high school librarian and college counselor. I run slowly. I also have a fondness for knitting and cooking. Oh, and I'm a beer geek.

Flickr Images